This video divides infancy into three different stages of development: the young, the mobile, and the older infant or toddler. Each stage is characterized by its own crucial developmental issue. For the young infant, security is the focus; for the mobile infant, it is exploration; for the older infant, it is the quest for identity. Specific guidelines and suggestions for caregiving are offered. Also included with this DVD is a DVD Booklet.

  • English
J. Ronald Lally, Peter L. Mangione, Sheila Signer, and Glynn O. Butterfield
Year of Publication
APA Reference
Lally, J. R. (Executive Producer/Content Developer/Writer), Mangione P. L. (Content Developer/Writer), Signer, S. (Content Developer/Writer), & Butterfield, G. O. (Editor). (1990). The ages of infancy: Caring for young, mobile, and older infants [DVD]. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Education.
Learning and Development
Individual Needs
Social-Emotional Milestones
Young, Mobile, Older
Media Type
Video Running Length (minutes)
Video Clip (English)
Video Clip (Spanish)

To order this product, visit the California Department of Education Press Educational Resources Online Ordering System.